How much Amp Draw on 2007 Heritage - Harley Davidson Forums



Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

How much Amp Draw on 2007 Heritage

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 12-25-2011, 10:09 PM
Nellybelle's Avatar
Nellybelle Nellybelle is offline
Road Warrior
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,697
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How much Amp Draw on 2007 Heritage

I have added a set of hard bags and tour pack to my wifes 2007 Heritage.
I also have added a J&M 2003 CB, as well as security and siren system.

Currently there are no lights on the tourpack or bags. I am thinking of adding either brake lights or running lights to either the Tour pack or the Saddlebags. Wondering has much amperage draw I have to work with on a stock Heritage and battery.

I assume LEDs' would be less draw. Any ideas will be appreciated. Can I increase the amperage with a larger battery and will it fit? Thank you in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-25-2011, 11:54 PM
Newharleylover's Avatar
Newharleylover Newharleylover is online now
Road Warrior
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: No where near you, OH
Posts: 1,580
Thanked 33 Times in 24 Posts
Default

The amperage draw of anything you add to her bike won't really matter as far as her battery is concerned unless the lights you add to her tour pack or the radio is left on while the bike is shut off. That all depends on how it's wired of course. I already know, like you said that led lights don't draw hardly any amps so I guess your main concern is how many amps the radio draws. Assuming the radio will be on when the bike is off.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-26-2011, 10:40 AM
Nellybelle's Avatar
Nellybelle Nellybelle is offline
Road Warrior
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,697
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The radio is wired through the switch so when the bike is ogg so is the radio.
I see your point though that when the bike is running there is enough amperage to run all accessories. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-26-2011, 04:59 PM
Dallas 13's Avatar
Dallas 13 Dallas 13 is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 256
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You should have enough power - the Ultras use all those lights as stock. It's not the battery that determines how much stuff you can power, it's the output of the alternator/regulator. Yours should be the same as that in the Ultra. LEDs use almost no current, so you can add as many of them as you please.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-21-2012, 10:35 PM
heidebill heidebill is offline
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Onoway Alberta
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Same Question, different, What is the output on my Ultra Classic? I want to add Heated Garments and Heated Grips?
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
P
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
starting amperage on Night Train? rquest Softail Models 9 11-05-2016 12:23 PM
2nd battery... 09baggerdude Audio Systems 17 05-29-2016 05:11 PM
Question on trailer lighting LED? Mannfan Electrical/Lighting/Alarm 6 04-12-2016 06:28 PM
4 amp parasitic battery drain oneway Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection 7 07-06-2013 02:21 PM
Radio Help Chicago 03 King Touring Models 3 05-20-2010 08:36 AM


Tags
2007, amp, amps, classic, draw, harley, heritage, led, lights, stock

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 PM.