Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Understanding VE Tables and why need to adjust

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2014, 08:07 AM
Road King Ray
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Understanding VE Tables and why need to adjust

Ok here is some background. I have over 25 years automotive experience but new to Tuning. I have a 2011 Road King with Arlen Ness Big Sucker Air Filter, SE-254E cams, V&H Twin Slash Rounds, V&H True Dual. I have had it tuned when all the work was done and it ran ok but seemed to me it was still be held back and seemed to run to hot ETMPS would kick in even on a 75 degree day. So I decided to look at the tune myself. Loaded the software and when I looked at what was installed as a base MAP was no were near what I had (high compression heads,big bore cylinders, race exhaust). I found a MAP that was closer and had my cam reset the constrants for my 96 and not 103. Followed the instructions about making records and did 12. Loaded them as per the instructions and got new working VE Tables. Changed the Acell Enrichment, Decel Enleanment, Throttle responsitivy reflashed the ECM and road test. The bike runs much better stronger and cooler. Have a slight decel pop closed throttle may have lower Decel Enleanment Table some more, also it has a slight upshift pop not all the time on the 2-3 shift which has been there since new. First it is amazing when the right stuff is done how much different it runs. My questions are What is VE I understand it a little but a little confused of how to use it. As per the insturctions if you want the working VE tables within 5% of the orginal VE Tables (I'm assuming from BASE MAP) why not just use that instead of making recordings and adjust the other tables as needed. I do see differences rom the Orginal (base M