Ironhead A place to talk about Ironheads.

74 ironhead no spark

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2017, 12:34 PM
SuffolkScott
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 74 ironhead no spark

I'm new here, so be gentle. I'm NO mechanic, but have a general understanding. I picked up a 74 ironhead. Wasn't running. Got it cheap. It was sitting a couple years, so i changed all the fluids. Literally all of them. Let me say beforehand that it's kick only. Electronic ignition.
Ok, so changed all the fluids. Put a battery in it. Rebuilt the carb. New coil. New regulator. New plugs and wires. New generator. Checked and rechecked all the wires. Started right up. All is good. Left it sitting for a couple of months due to winter weather. (Garaged). Now im not getting spark. Checked and rechecked the wires. Checked the battery and grounds. 12.5 volts across the coil with the key "on". Still no spark. Wtf am I missing?

Old 02-19-2017, 04:29 PM
IronMick
Stellar HDF Member
Received 111 Likes on 91 Posts

Which electronic ignition does it have - Ultima? Hi-4? Dyna? other?

I have experience with the Ultima and the Hi-4.

The Dyna and a few others retain the use of mechanical advance assembly [parts used by points ignition]. These parts wear and may need to be inspected, cleaned, refurbished or replaced. I have no experience with these types and may even be using incorrect terminology here.

Old 02-19-2017, 05:23 PM
81rat
Road Warrior
Received 438 Likes on 270 Posts

As IronMick said also , loosen a screw on the ign under the points cover plate and tighten back up then use a jumper wire from that screw to ground on BATTERY
what happens over the years and seating is the bike a lot of times loses GROUND and between ALUM , paper, paint, chrome ( the worst ) and every connection and breakers

Old 02-19-2017, 05:27 PM
Jackie Paper
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 4,543 Likes on 3,794 Posts