Ironhead A place to talk about Ironheads.

69 XLCH Build

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2009, 02:42 AM
car99r
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 69 XLCH Build

Well, I jumpe dinto my first HD build. I have owned a Fatboy since 2005 and plenty of metric bikes over the years. I have also built many metric bikes (choppers, bobbers, stockers, etc...) however, this is my first attempt at an old ironhead.

I bought a basket case project a friend had started about 5 years ago but never finished. He sold off several things off the stock bike and purchased a paugcho rigid frame (mechanical brakes) and a chrome frontend for it but that is as far as he got.

Here are a few pics of the day I picked it up...

As you can see the unpainted frame collected quite a bit of rust over the years. The motor ran strong before he tore it down and I witnessed it running. Has set for 5 years though. Still turns over good.

Also bought a 76 XLCH and working on parting it out and robbing some parts that I might need.

Old 12-02-2009, 02:45 AM
car99r
Intermediate

I took the frame to get sand blasted and it turned out good. No pitting and I was suprised. I went ahead for now and put some primer on it to keep from rusting again.

Swapped the mis-matched wheels from the 76 onto it, installed front end (need dust caps for neck cups though) and made a roller. I had several tanks laying around I like the looks of this one the best. Alo had the seat and springs on the shelf already.

This is what it looks like now.

Last edited by car99r; 12-02-2009 at 02:52 AM.
Old 12-02-2009, 02:51 AM
car99r
Intermediate

I have a few things I have to figure out and that is where this board comes into play...lol

This is a wide glide frontend and had the axle with it. however, no spacers... Anyone know the size of spacers I need to convert from narrow glide to wide glide?

Also having issues with the wheels...