Ironhead A place to talk about Ironheads.
View Poll Results: Why do you check out vintage Harley threads?
I like all Harley's and check out all the threads.
32.29%
I especially like vintage Harley's
25.00%
I own a vintage Harley and look for threads related to my year of bike.
47.92%
I hope to own a vintage Harley and I am always looking for ideas/information on a certain year.
18.75%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 96. You may not vote on this poll

1977 Hot Rod Bobber Build

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2014, 12:47 PM
BayBones
Tourer
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 1977 Hot Rod Bobber Build

Hey guys - I have been waiting till the cold dark winter months to start this thread cause everyone seems to like to follow these things in the non-riding months - and I know I will have lots of questions for the guys that frequent this forum. This will no doubt be a long build - probably won't be completed this winter - not that its that complicated (it is my first build) but I just don't have the time to do everything I want in one winter season. It might be in riding condition next summer but it probably won't be where I want it for a couple of years.
I have been looking for a good donor bike for well over a year now and I found one a few moths ago. I wanted to use a 70's era sportster (wanted left side shift (post 74) and pre 79 when the frame was changed. I learned from this site that 77 and 78 would be the best examples to use - so that was my target. I found a 1977 XLT in almost original condition and it was a great runner and had almost all original parts. I had to travel about 1440 km to get her but she is now mine and I love her (Thanks for looking after her so well Wally.)