Sponsored by:

Oil pressure drops at higher dpeed

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2015, 07:04 PM
Punjabi Rider
Grand HDF Member
Received 242 Likes on 192 Posts
Default Oil pressure drops at higher dpeed

Didn't pay attention before last weekend me and wife were on a nice day ride on our 15 Limiteds as I watching the air temp and oil pressure on my bike as I exceeded 85 mph the oil pressure dropped couple psi and as slow down to 80 it was up couple psi, tried few times and same result then ask wife on the CB to compare and speed has opposite effect on her bike speed increases so the oil pressure. Not sure if the sending unit is inaccurate on my bike or oil pump getting confused with higher RPMs have an appointment next week but am expecting the answer from the HD tech that it's normal and within HD guidelines.

Old 05-07-2015, 07:07 PM
Punjabi Rider
Grand HDF Member

Oops I meant SPEED.

Old 05-07-2015, 07:26 PM
skieverything
Tourer
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I am no expert, however my opinion is that your oil pressure is more closely related to RPM's , not speed. Maybe try a run while looking at RPM's instead of speed

Old 05-07-2015, 08:53 PM
Punjabi Rider
Grand HDF Member

Originally Posted by skieverything
I am no expert, however my opinion is that your oil pressure is more closely related to RPM's , not speed . Maybe try a run while looking at RPM's instead of speed
Yes I'm aware of that but constantly having higher RPM is more possible at higher speed on the hwy and that's where oil pressure was dropping as RPM were increasing and staying at it for a longer at higher speed it will drop and as I ease off the throttle and drop the speed few mph as rpm also drop by few 100s pressure will go up instead other way around.

Old 05-07-2015, 09:06 PM
lp
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 2,722 Likes on 1,547 Posts