Shovelhead A place to talk about Shovelheads.

Another leaking shovel

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2007, 12:44 AM
DirtyWhiteBoy
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Another leaking shovel

As some of you already know I recently inherited a 76 FXE. This bike is a mild custom and I'm new to Harley's so I'm not completely sure whats stock and whats not. It's a belt drive primary, and the clutch is the type that uses bolts with springs instead of the studs with springs that I am seeing in the manual. Oil is leaking from the bottom of the primary cover and out the derby cover. It appears that their is not supposed to be any oil in the primary case, there are no oil lines runnig to it, and with a belt drive I would assume it should be a dry setup. I pulled the outer primary off and it appears to be coming from behind the motor sprocket and is definately motor oil and not trans fluid. I've got the cluth basket taken apart and am ready to pull the basket out all together. I didn't have te right bolts for my puller so that will have to wait for tomorrow. The way I see it, is I have to get the clutch hub and basket out, then I can take the inner primary off. Once the inner primary is off I can use a jaw puller to taker the motor sproket off. Is this correct or is there something I'm missing. Once I get the motor sproket off, where do I go from there? Also, what is the purpose of the saftey wire that is strung betwwen the two bolts directly behind the motor sprocket? I'm not new to wrenching, but I am very new to Harley's. I'm trying to get this bike ready for Bike Week, and I will greatly appreciate any help I can get with this.

Old 01-27-2007, 05:54 PM
Rodnocker
Novice
Default RE: Another leaking shovel

Well I see no replys,,,,,,,,stuff can get longwinded trying to explain on a keyboard,,,,,,get you a OEM H.D. service and parts manual,,,,,they are as important as your tools and tell you how to do the job and where the parts gowithout saying a word,,,
good luck