Audio Systems Find answers to all of your stereo, speaker and other audio technology questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

PBR300x2 problem

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2016, 09:21 PM
SG-Jay
Road Captain
Received 63 Likes on 49 Posts
Default PBR300x2 problem

Hey guys, I've been running a PBR300x2 for a few years now. It is hooked to Infinity Kappa 62.ii and stock head unit. Today, while riding the music turned off and I could smell a burnt electronics smell at the same time. I turned off the radio and continued riding.
I got home and took the outer off and turned on the radio. The power protect light was lit on the amp. I unplugged the speaker outputs, but the light still came on, I unplugged the inputs (which I used as the remote turn on) and turned the unit on with one side disconnected, no light, but no sound out of the other side either. I plugged a speaker into the radio outputs and they are fine, no problem with the leads from the radio.
It appears to me that the amp is fried, I took the cover off, no real nasty electronics smell. Does this sound like the amp to you guys? If so, I think I will get a better amp, maybe a soundstream or Arc Audio. What do you guys think?

Old 10-10-2016, 03:33 AM
Gannicus
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 410 Likes on 377 Posts

Originally Posted by SG-Jay
Hey guys, I've been running a PBR300x2 for a few years now. It is hooked to Infinity Kappa 62.ii and stock head unit. Today, while riding the music turned off and I could smell a burnt electronics smell at the same time. I turned off the radio and continued riding.