Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need info, opinions, etc., for a 2000 Fat Boy

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2016, 02:43 PM
waynejitsu
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need info, opinions, etc., for a 2000 Fat Boy

I am looking at a 2000 Fat Boy with 30,000 miles on it and Engine has the screaming eagle package (screaming eagle heads, S&S carb and intake, crane cams and fire box) added around 10,000 miles ago, bike has also been Dyno Tuned. The bike looks almost new and the owner has had it for the last 6 years.
What is this bike worth?
What is the reliability of this bike compared to other Harley models and the newer Fat Boy?
How is the reliability compared to other bikes, Honda, Suzuki, etc?
Are there any things I need to know about it?
I am not a mechanic and want a bike I can just jump on,ride and not worry about breaking down far from home. ANY and ALL advise is greatly appreciated, Thanks!!

Old 10-23-2016, 07:43 PM
Snowyone
Road Captain
Received 22 Likes on 21 Posts

If the motor was done right the only worry would be the mechanical adjusters on cam change. Did you ride the bike and like it's feel? Should be in the 6 to 7k range for price. As with all motorized vehicles it's a crap shoot which is going to make it to 120k. The reliability compared to other bikes I don't know as have never owned them. I do see HD riders taking much better care of their bikes in general knowing their value will hold if doing so. Price a 16 year old Suzuki and that should tell you something.

The following users liked this post:
waynejitsu (10-24-2016)
Old 10-23-2016, 07:51 PM
Stiggy
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 5,555 Likes on 3,058 Posts

That bike came with a bullet proof crank. If the tensioners were addressed, it should be super reliable.

waynejitsu (10-24-2016)
Old 10-23-2016, 08:20 PM
waynejitsu
Novice