Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

new Fatboy

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2008, 07:29 AM
thedeacon
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new Fatboy

Hi all! Would like to get some tips about riding my new Fatboy. I am making the switch from a much lighter bike and would appreciate any tips or helpful information on riding a heavier bike. My new bike also has the added "heel"shifter which I have no experience with. All help is greatly appreciated. Thanks
Thedeacon

Old 02-08-2008, 07:54 AM
smitbrad
Tourer
Default RE: new Fatboy

I never used my heel shifter so I took it off. Removing the heel shifter also gives you more room to move your foot around on the floor board.
Just take it easy until you get comfortable riding your new FB. The bike handles great and you won't really notice the extra weight when riding. Most important pointer is to give yourselfmore distance to come to a stop.I would suggest going to a parking lot and get use to performing hard stops.

Congrats on the new bike! Happy riding!

Old 02-08-2008, 08:22 AM
tmitchellof PG
Elite HDF Member
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Took my heel shifter off also. I like the extra room on the floor board.
I put pressure on the rear brake when doing slow maneuvers. It gives me better control.
Make sure your jiffy stand is pushed fully forward and locked in place before you get off the bike.
Tom

Old 02-08-2008, 09:07 AM
rjmac53
Extreme HDF Member
Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts

No heel shifter on mine. Just ride and the feel will come to you before you know it.

Old 02-08-2008, 09:13 AM
gunner065
Road Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post