Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Putting short shots on a 08 Nightrain

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2008, 11:25 PM
raymet
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Putting short shots on a 08 Nightrain

I am a new harley owner as well as new to the forums and have a question in regards to changing the pipes on my 08 Nightrain. I have talked to both dealers in my area and have gotten differing answers on this. One dealer told me i hade to install the big air kit and the fuel pack or I risked damaging my engine as it will run lean. I work in the automotive industry and to my knowledge the O2 sensors in the bike should adjust the air/fuel mixture to accomidate for the different exhaust if they operate in the same way they do in cars...right or not? They also told me that if I do not install these other items my warranty will be void. The other dealer in my area has told me they are not required but recommended as when changing the exhaust out why would you not want to increase your air intake as well, but not doing so will not void my warranty. I do not want to do anythind to damage the bike but at the same time I fell that the one dealer is trying to talk me into way more then I have to do....quoted $1600.00 to put a set of short shots on... Any help would be appreciated
&nbsp\\;
Thanks

Old 06-25-2008, 11:32 PM
savello
Intermediate
Default RE: Putting short shots on a 08 Nightrain

If you change the exhaust you need to get some kind of fuel management I have a Power Commander and the stage 1 air cleaner. The O2 sensors from what i hear do nothing above Idle but i could be wrong, P.S. the power commander comes with O2 eliminators so my bike has no O2s anymore..... And my dealer says it will not void the warranty and i installed them myself.

Old 06-25-2008, 11:35 PM
wtf6316
Road Master
Received 1 Like on 1 Post