Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Oil filter question

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2008, 01:53 AM
niteowl02
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Oil filter question

This is my first time doing an oil change on my fatboy and I'm not sure what to expect when removing the filter. Is there going to be oil coming out and running down onto my spoiler? When installing the new filter is it necessary to add some oil to the filter before installing. Thank you in advance.

Old 11-23-2008, 02:25 AM
qwispichkn
Tourer

yes and yes

Add a few ounces oil to the new filter, and lightly coat the gasket. I use a piece of cardboard to slide under the old filter to direct the flow away from the bike, but still manage to make a mess.

Old 11-23-2008, 04:29 AM
xxxflhrci
Extreme HDF Member
Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts

It is not necessary to add oil to the filter before you screw it on.

Old 11-23-2008, 07:34 AM
WARG
Elite HDF Member
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

Not necessary to add oil to the filter, but you should coat the gasket with some oil. And yes, it is difficult to not make a mess. I just got done cleaning oil from behind my voltage regulator that ran back there during my oil change.

Old 11-23-2008, 08:06 AM
softail04
Road Master

just take the filter off .. you are going to make a mess anyway so get a can of carb spray and after you are done putting the filter back on wash the thing down with the carb spray

Old 11-23-2008, 09:44 AM
acchd
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 71 Likes on 52 Posts

Take some aluminum foil and place under filter and away from bike then cut end off a 2 litre plastic coke bottle and unscrew filter with it.

Old 11-23-2008, 10:48 AM
sportncruise
Road Captain

I use aluminum foil under mine and let it drain but it always gets some under the foil.
With the bike on the stand it will drain from the outlet for a long time.