Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Advice Needed

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2006, 07:56 PM
Roodog
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice Needed

Hi there, I'm new to HD Forum, just pick myself up a new 06 FXSTI after riding a Ducati Super Sports, could someone please give my some advice on a good staggered exhaust system for my new baby, and will it help to run a power commander after changing the exhaust, by the way I live in Perth Western Australia.

Old 05-29-2006, 08:18 PM
XRP
Ultimate HDF Member
Default RE: Advice Needed

Welcome from Canada.

Old 05-29-2006, 08:44 PM
Roodog
Cruiser

Thanks Mr Claire, its nice to be part of the family

Old 05-30-2006, 12:05 AM
cwsharp
Stellar HDF Member
Received 152 Likes on 112 Posts

I'm presuming you have EFI?

By staggered, you mean that you want the tips offset similar to the stock exhaust?

I don't know what Harley is doing in Australia, but because of the EPA here in the United States they are getting out of the exhaust business so you might find a deal on a set of Harley Screamin' Eagle exhaust or you may not be able to find any at all. I just bought some used double barrel 16 gauge full headers. Harley also sold slip ons. I just read an article that said that the slip ons were the best bang for the buck. Personally, I don't like the way that many of them look and their sound (for the baloney cuts) is too "popping" for me.

Anyway, you need to hear what you are buying on another bike if at all possible. I didn't decide on what I wanted until I went to a big event where I could look at any number of different pipes... (Daytona Bike Week).

I like SuperTrapps.

I would suggest that you get a Screamin' Eagle stage I air cleaner at the same time that you do the pipes.