Pre-Wired Apes? - Harley Davidson Forums

Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Softail Models
Log In 


Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.

Pre-Wired Apes?

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 10-30-2012, 08:18 AM
cwsharp cwsharp is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,534
Default Pre-Wired Apes?

Demon (and maybe others) is offering pre-wired apes. I'm looking at some 19's for a buddy. Has anyone used this approach? Comments?

C#
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2012, 08:26 AM
Notgrownup Notgrownup is offline
Extreme HDF Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Snow Hill, NC
Posts: 10,959
Default

Personally i would stay away from Demon Cycles... heard too much negatives about them...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2012, 10:16 AM
8 UP 8 UP is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Amelia, Ohio
Posts: 181
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Notgrownup View Post
Personally i would stay away from Demon Cycles... heard too much negatives about them...
Its to easy to wire them your self.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-30-2012, 10:24 AM
SanJuanRon SanJuanRon is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Clemente CA (winter/spring) & Lake City CO (summer/fall)
Posts: 1,793
Default

Check out Hill Country Custom. SJ Ron
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-30-2012, 01:00 PM
jaysledge jaysledge is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NM
Posts: 453
Default

Do it yourself, save yourself some money, it takes about an hour, go slow. Plumbers chain, baby powder and electrical tape is all you need. And also stay away from Demon Cycles, their stuff is junk.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-30-2012, 05:31 PM
8 UP 8 UP is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Amelia, Ohio
Posts: 181
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaysledge View Post
Do it yourself, save yourself some money, it takes about an hour, go slow. Plumbers chain, baby powder and electrical tape is all you need. And also stay away from Demon Cycles, their stuff is junk.
I'v used WD-40 instead of power.
Push on the wires as you pull taking up slack, not just pulling the wires.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-31-2012, 07:01 AM
cwsharp cwsharp is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,534
Default

19" is a loooonnnggg pull. I want to investigate using this type of approach. I know I can figure out how to pull the wires myself to save some money... but I'm not sure my family can stand the swearing coming out of the garage!

I want to know if anyone has tried this and what they thought.

C#
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-31-2012, 07:25 AM
HoggyMtnBreakdown HoggyMtnBreakdown is online now
Club Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 3,532
Default

+1 on HCC. I got mine from them. Mine weren't prewired, but I know I saw some prewired kits there while I was browsing. Not sure if you can get 19", but 18s and 20s are both offered, I think. They gave me free shipping all the way to Japan, too, so I highly recommend them...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-31-2012, 02:19 PM
jaysledge jaysledge is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NM
Posts: 453
Smile

I realize these are different than what you are talking about, but they were 18" of pulling with 4 bends for each side, go slow. use the words "sugar, farfignuton & Mother Theresa" and you shouldn't have to explain much to your family.
Attached Thumbnails
Pre-Wired Apes?-bars-wired.jpg  

Last edited by jaysledge; 10-31-2012 at 02:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-31-2012, 03:13 PM
camo36 camo36 is offline
New Member
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Goodyear, AZ
Posts: 65
dayne.crawford
Default

contact americanclassicmotors.net I bought a set of 16" prewired apes from them about 2 years ago for my last bike. ordered everything from them, grips, housings, buttons, cables, everything was prewired and installed on the bars. all that was needed was to mount them on the bike, wire them into my harness and attach the cables to my bike. VERY reasonably priced, and offer free shipping most of the time. they are a very big ebay dealer and consistenly have the lowest prices on anything i've ever wanted.
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
P
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB 14" apes dyolfknip Want To Buy Motorcycles/Parts/Accessories 2 11-06-2013 11:41 AM
Wiring comparison ahartend Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection 0 10-28-2013 11:29 PM
Hill Country Apes - Opinion? Mathis Softail Models 21 02-16-2013 08:59 PM
Hill Country Custom Cycles jpicht Dyna Glide Models 8 02-15-2012 07:09 AM
Pre-wired apehanger kit vs DIY install with Novello wiring extension kit? thewholehog Softail Models 3 04-13-2010 12:40 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.