Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Sportster 1200C Bar/Riser Swap: Basic Guide w/ Parts/Tips/Pics

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2016, 02:25 AM
BlackBettyXLC
Cruiser
Received 53 Likes on 46 Posts
Default Sportster 1200C Bar/Riser Swap: Basic Guide w/ Parts/Tips/Pics

I recently bought my first bike, an '07 Sportster 1200C, and I wanted to swap out the handlebars and riser for some ape hangers of some kind. I've always dug the look. After a ton of research and finally completing the job, I thought I'd share my process. As a disclaimer, this is NOT a detailed write up on how to swap your handlebars out. I'm a beginner with bikes, but I'm mechanically inclined and decided to tackle the job myself. I have seen many other people ask countless questions about cable lengths, part numbers, risers, wiring, etc. when doing this specific job on a Sportster Custom. After receiving so much help from the community on how to do the job, I thought I'd give back a bit and help answer some questions.

To start, I've included some pics (see bottom of post) and part numbers of the parts that were necessary for this particular job:

Bars and Riser
Handlebars: 12" Road 6 Customs
Speedo Top Clamp: Black Wrinkle (HD pt# 55847-05A)
Risers: Satin Black - HD Pt# 56116-82A (left) and 56117-82A (right)
Speedo Rear Cushion: HD Pt# 67104-95
Speedo Rear Cover: Black Wrinkle (HD Pt #67320-95)
Indicator Light Harness: HD Pt# 68813-07
Indicator Light Bezel: HD Pt# 68513-95A

Cables/Wiring
Clutch Cable (6" over stock): Magnum Shielding in Black Pearl (Pt#42256HE)
Brake Line: Magnum Shielding EZ Align 48" in Black Pearl (Pt#46648SW)
Extended Wiring: NAMZ +8" Pt# NHCX-M08 (probably could have eeked by with +6")
Throttle/Idle Cables: Stock

Necessary Hardware
2x Indicator Light Bezel Screw: HD Pt# 2325
2x Speedo Rear Cover Screw: HD Pt# 2361
4x Riser Bolts: HD Pt# 3210A

A few important notes/tips: