Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Sportster Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by: Rush Racing Products

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-01-2009, 01:06 PM
bryce95racing bryce95racing is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 30
Default 12" Ape Cable lengths (Sportster)

I am putting 12" Apes on a 07 Sportster Low. I was wondering if anyone knew what the lengths of the cables below that I need?

Brake
Clutch
Idle
Throttle

And, if anyone know where I can get the wiring harness extension besides harley that would help also. Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2009, 01:59 PM
RATROD HOG RATROD HOG is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastern Pa
Posts: 1,768
Default

barnnet cables 6" over
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2009, 03:57 PM
bryce95racing bryce95racing is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 30
Default

Thanks for your help. Is that 6" over on all? Everyone tells me Barnnet. They must be a good company. What about drag specialties?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2009, 04:17 PM
RATROD HOG RATROD HOG is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastern Pa
Posts: 1,768
Default

Stock +6
cables can get at J&P cycles or other places

so if stock cable is 32" then +6 over =38"
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2009, 04:31 PM
bryce95racing bryce95racing is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 30
Default

Another dumb question. Where can i go to get the actual stock cable lengths?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2009, 04:43 PM
RATROD HOG RATROD HOG is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastern Pa
Posts: 1,768
Default

OK for the Low
stock is throttle 32"
idle 31"
clutch 51 1/2"
brake cable with apes 44"
now for more dumb?
your ends at handle bars 90* or 130* mine are 130*
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-01-2009, 04:46 PM
RATROD HOG RATROD HOG is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastern Pa
Posts: 1,768
Default

what about turn signals
longer wires?
Apes hangers are not easy to put on,there is a lot of work there.
you got to think this stuff thru !!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-01-2009, 07:21 PM
Flatlander's Avatar
Flatlander Flatlander is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: East Central Illinois
Posts: 1,416
Default

To decrease the amount of wire splicing and improve looks I rerouted my turn signals to the front forks with a $20 set of chrome clamps from drag specialties. You will also need to lift the tank to get at the wiring easier. I was able to remove the front mounting bolt and loosen the rear and just tilt my tank up. Made it easier to do the wiring and run the throttle and idle cables. If you can get a friend or a lift to keep the bike upright you shouldn't have to add any fluid to the tranny when you replace the cable. Just a couple ideas to help you.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-01-2009, 09:12 PM
ape.hanger883's Avatar
ape.hanger883 ape.hanger883 is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada
Posts: 55
Default

What about going with a taller bar like 16"
__________________

2000 Sportster

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-26-2013, 07:40 AM
roadkill2001 roadkill2001 is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Default 12" ape hangers

Hey guys new to this. I just put a new set of harley davidson 12" apes. the only thing i needed to buy is a 45" brake line thats it.The stock clutch cable was long enough you just need to move it to the inside of the handle bars. the throttle cables are also long enough run them on the outside of the fork tube but behind the brake line...the switch block wiring was easy as i not long done a tank lift and had reroute the wiring to the top of the spine also disconnect the switch block wiring and reroute the wire cable between the the risers then push a little the left side then tape all the wiring together.will post photos
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 07:40 AM
 
 
 
P
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cable length help Aaron183 Softail Models 1 04-12-2014 01:09 PM
cable lengths for nightsters with 12inch RSD vintage mini apes? RBnightster Sportster Models 0 06-16-2010 05:45 PM
Throttle cables?? Phat09flhx Ironhead 4 04-06-2010 10:08 AM
Crossbones Cable Length for 14" Apes?? jumporjerkoff Softail Models 8 01-11-2010 12:56 AM
Stock cable length?? fire228 Sportster Models 0 07-02-2008 05:57 PM


Tags
12, 2000, 2002, 90, ape, apes, bars, cable, cables, davidson, harley, lengths, long, sportster, stock


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join HDForums

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 PM.


Internet Brands, Inc.