T-Bars on a Sporty? - Harley Davidson Forums



Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by: DK Custom Products

T-Bars on a Sporty?

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-20-2010, 01:28 AM
RKKY RKKY is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 2,041
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default T-Bars on a Sporty?

Went on a 30 mile ride on a buddys bike today, Dyna with 12" T-bars on it and I loved the way the bike handled with them. Looking at picking up an Iron in the not so distant future and the ride got me thinking about throwing similar bars on it. I'll have to relocate the speedo and change cables/lines at a minimum. I was wondering if anyone else had done this to their Sporty and what else had to be done. Some pics would be killer as well.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-20-2010, 08:03 PM
matt_883 matt_883 is offline
New Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 74
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I believe (w/o first-hand experience of course) is that if you go with bars higher than 8" you will need to replace the cables--Of course that also depends on how long your stock cables are in the first place. Second speed bump you'll run into is where/how to mount the speedo and dummy lights. I am too thinking about going with some 10" T-bars on my ride but have not found an acceptable solution of where/how to mount the speedo. I want it near the stock location and not down by my knee like the Joker setup. I have seen several different clamps and cups that will fit our stock speedo but I have not seen anything that deals with the idiot light LED strip. Anyone with any experience with this swap do chime in please!!

Matt
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-21-2010, 12:20 PM
gilmour68's Avatar
gilmour68 gilmour68 is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Attached is a link to some photos of forum member Capttawes ride. He moved the speedo to the top triple tree and put apes on his bike. I recommend a forum search for posts made by Capttawes for more info.

http://www.hdforums.com/forum/the-ph...photoshop.html

I purchased the parts to do the speedo relocation, but I have yet to pick up the bars. I think I still have the packing slips with the part numbers on them - I can check later when I get home. The parts ran me around $75 if I remember correctly.
This mod accounts for the idiot lights as well.

By the way the bars I'm looking at are 8" rise with pre-wired chrome switches installed, 1 1/4" diameter. They're $230 shipped.
Attached Thumbnails
T-Bars on a Sporty?-img-1-.jpg  

Last edited by gilmour68; 04-21-2010 at 12:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-21-2010, 03:16 PM
chisel chisel is offline
New Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

http://www.hdforums.com/forum/sports...ter-t-bar.html
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2010, 03:50 PM
crashin crashin is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Independence, MO
Posts: 622
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I run T-Bars on my sporty.

The first way I mounted the speedo was using the headlight visor bolts, but I kept snapping the bolts.



So I ended up changing them to chrome clamps instead.




I used the 8" straight up Ultima bars from Jireh Cycles.

Last edited by crashin; 04-21-2010 at 03:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-21-2010, 07:10 PM
matt_883 matt_883 is offline
New Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 74
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

gilmour, if you could post pics of those parts and/or the part numbers to re-locate the speedo and dummy lights to the top triple tree that would be awesome! Those are the same bars that I am looking at as well for my Sporty!!

Matt
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-21-2010, 10:14 PM
gilmour68's Avatar
gilmour68 gilmour68 is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

The HD parts used --
-----------------------------------------------------
1 x 68551-95 (68551-95) = $14.96
1 x 68516-95 (68516-95) = $9.20
1 x 68513-95 (68513-95) = $2.00
1 x 67104-95 (67104-95) = $7.00
------------------------------------------------------
Sub-Total: $33.16
Standard Shipping (Standard Domestic Shipping with Insurance. (International shipping determined and charged at time of shipment)): $9.00
Total: $42.16

The mounting bracket w/indicator panel thru V-Twin Mfg -

39-0212 -- 1995-up Single Instrument Mount (upper right corner of pg 938)

http://www.vtwinmfg.com/Catalog1/VTwinCatalogIndex1.htm

This item was in the $35 price range if I remember correctly and was on backorder when I bought mine.


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-22-2010, 12:24 AM
Bear_925's Avatar
Bear_925 Bear_925 is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Contra Costa County, CA
Posts: 353
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default T-Bars Sporty Setup

Here are a few, hope this helps or at least gives some ideas. Its a dyna but could work the same.

Oh and if you run the wires inside the bars don't forget the turn signal wires or you may want to keep them out for other options whatever. I just zip tied the wires to the bars.

Getting the turn signal wires by the 90 degree angle is a hard task on these bars but can be done.

Some pics with and w/o the fairing.

-10" West coast brand T-bars ( bought from Lathrop HD)
-stock black sportster gauge housing from HD (used stock idiot light from original)
-used stock idiot light from original clamp
-Gauge adaptor bracket to clamp to t-bars 1 1/4



Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-22-2010, 02:27 PM
Bear_925's Avatar
Bear_925 Bear_925 is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Contra Costa County, CA
Posts: 353
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Opps I meant ( all wires, turn signal, switch housing and all), I bet you all figured that out.

"Getting the turn signal wires by the 90 degree angle is a hard task on these bars but can be done."
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-13-2010, 09:10 PM
gilmour68's Avatar
gilmour68 gilmour68 is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I know this is an older thread, but I thought I'd post updated pics.
Attached Thumbnails
T-Bars on a Sporty?-tank-lift-008.jpg   T-Bars on a Sporty?-cimg2522.jpg   T-Bars on a Sporty?-cimg2524.jpg  
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
P
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
T-Bar question YellowHawk Dyna Glide Models 4 05-30-2016 03:46 PM
Anyone else sick of all these fairings? TylerBoehm The General B/S Forum 132 08-21-2014 08:46 PM
Mini apes vs. t-bars DM426 Dyna Glide Models 2 06-24-2014 01:43 PM
10" t-bar help dmarion Sportster Models 6 02-23-2013 12:26 PM
West Coast T-Bars or Street Slammers lkohan7373 Dyna Glide Models 17 01-02-2011 12:10 AM


Tags
390212, 6710495, 6851695, 6855195, bars, bracket, forums, harleys, hd, hdforums, install, iron, speedo, speedometer, sportster, tbars

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 AM.