Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is the Sportster REALLY the fastest HD?

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2007, 11:15 PM
Kolni
Banned
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Is the Sportster REALLY the fastest HD?

I am new to the HD crowd and have been reading these forums since I got my Sportster a few months ago.

Y'all talk like the Sportster is faster than other HD's.

Now, I haven't researched all the specs and I haven't riden other HDs.

So, is what you guys say true or is it just bragging?

Cause mine seams pretty damn quick to me and I know I got a big motor in a lighht frame.

But what is the TRUTH?

Old 07-10-2007, 11:24 PM
Dallastx
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Is the Sportster REALLY the fastest HD?

Stock with the exeption of the v-rod the 1200 is quicker than the other models. Things change. The new softail looks like a pretty light bike. With 96 cubes, could be the quickest yet.

Old 07-10-2007, 11:32 PM
128auto
Extreme HDF Member
Received 29 Likes on 26 Posts

In fact, Sportster is a bit faster on take off because it is lighter. Here is my experience, I rode with 3 softails last sunday, two twin cam 88 and one 96, I followed the 96 and it was damn fast, I can keep up with him but when he cracks the throttle open, it really goes man, especially going up hill, it has torque. Sportster is fast but 400cc bigger engine could beat my 1200 big time. The only thing I don't understand is how good the 07 softail corners, thank to the 200mm rear tire.

Old 07-10-2007, 11:35 PM
Dallastx
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Agreed!!

Old 07-11-2007, 12:44 AM
Dale Franks
Road Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I guess it all depends on what you mean by "fastest".