Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2 Dumb Transmission Fluid Questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2015, 08:55 AM
TKDKurt
Elite HDF Member
Received 126 Likes on 88 Posts
Default 2 Dumb Transmission Fluid Questions

I'm no mechanic, so these questions may be the dumbest you've ever read. (Bike is a 2011 RKC)

1. When checking the transmission fluid, should the bike be warm or cold? The service manual seems to suggest cold, but it doesn't come right out and say it. (It just says to let it rest for a short period of time if it's just been ridden to allow the fluid to equalize.) Other sources say to warm the bike up and shift through the gears before checking, but they also say to check the fluid with the bike upright and the manual clearly says to do it on the jiffy stand. Which is it--warm or cold?

2. When I checked it cold, the fluid is at the bottom of, or just below, the marked range of acceptable levels on the dipstick. If I want to bring it up to the middle of the range, how much fluid should I add to move it from the bottom of the range to the middle of the range? (I don't want to overfill.)

Old 04-17-2015, 09:13 AM
KCFLHRC
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 1,300 Likes on 780 Posts

I think letting it rest after riding or cold would be the same thing as long as you give it time to drain back if you have just ridden it. As far as how much to add, I would just add an ounce at a time until you reach the desired level and make sure when you are checking it that you don't screw in the dip stick. This is from the owners manual if you didn't know.

When checking the transmission lubricant level, the motorcycle should be leaning on the jiffy stand. If the motorcycle was recently moved or ridden, allow a short period of time to equalize lubricant level in the transmission compartments