Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Used '02 Roadking or Buy New?

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2007, 10:29 AM
Littleleroy
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Used '02 Roadking or Buy New?

My dealer has a very clean '02 Roadking with 15K on the clock for $12,500. Two questions: Is that a reasonable price (I think so based on KBB, but I'm a newbie), and how would all of you weigh the advantages/disadvantages of a carbed bike (no need to modify for cooler running) versus having a six speed tranny on a newer bike? The bike is stock with hard bags and mag wheels. Forgot to ask them about any warranty.

Old 11-17-2007, 11:01 AM
maineultraclassic
Elite HDF Member
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Used '02 Roadking or Buy New?

'02 = no warranty, no financing deals, already has 15000 miles on it, and you said it was carbed.

'08 = warranty, good financing, it's brand new so you are starting fresh, bigger motor, 6 speed tranny, and it's efi.

For me, 12500 for an '02 vs. 18500 for an '08..................I would get the '08.

Steve

Old 11-17-2007, 11:27 AM
Dennydp
Elite HDF Member
Received 14 Likes on 3 Posts

Id get the 08 and abs unless price forbid it.

Old 11-17-2007, 11:40 AM
Uncle Peepers
Road Warrior
Received 854 Likes on 414 Posts

The price might be a little high if the seller were an individual, but it's not too bad for a dealer. Still, given the market, you might see if he'll come down a little.