Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What size air compressor/tank?

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2010, 03:13 PM
ks6c
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What size air compressor/tank?

I just retired and expect to do a lot of touring, now that we've moved back to the States.

I'd like to be doing more of my own maintenance, and lots of touring will mean lots of tire changes.

As I'm outfitting my garage, what size air compressor/reservoir would be needed to deliver the oomph necessary to seat the beads on a tire? I won't be running any air tools, so this is really just about changing the tires.

Old 01-03-2010, 03:30 PM
jeff.georgalas
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I've got the craftsman version of this http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_1...ir+Compressors. But I bought it because I'm a carpenter and needed something that would keep up with me when I was framing, but if you just want something to change tires with you can probably get by with a "pancake" like this http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_1...ir+Compressors and be fine with it. I always buy a little bit bigger whatever I need just to allow for future "growth". Hope this helps.

Old 01-03-2010, 03:39 PM
hullhorr
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 184 Likes on 182 Posts

I agree with Jeff. You don't need a big one for for what you describe, but might need a little bigger than a pancake. Pancakes aren't good for much more than nail guns cause the tanks are so small. I would do at least a 20 gallon tank. Personally I also prefer the oil lubricated compressors over the diaphragm versions.

If you think you are ever going to run air tools I would go bigger.

Old 01-03-2010, 03:54 PM
Ram
Outstanding HDF Member