Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rider Backrest Intallation (07 FLHX)

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2011, 09:34 AM
richards6402
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up Rider Backrest Intallation (07 FLHX)

This is not a difficult installation. I am not a mechanic but enjoy learning how to work on my own bikes. Recently I purchased on Ebay a backrest (HD #51631-09) and bracket (HD# 52587-09). This is the first time I have posted an installation on HD Forums so I apologize if make some sort of positng mistake.
Step 1: Remove rider left side bag. Remove seat strap from rider left side. One bolt holds strap on. Lay strap over seat to the right side. Remove Phillips screw head behind seat that attaches to your rear fender. This should release your seat by pulling seat back to release front tab.
Step 2: Install removeable tab to the wall of the bracket behind battery. There should be a small hole already there for it. I had to enlarge the hole with a drill for bolt to fit through. It is tight behind bracket so I took a needle nosed pliers and held the nut with it behind the bracket and gently screwed the bolt into it from above. Then I used an open end wrench to snug it but not tighten it. This way you can move it to the side when installing large bracket. This is shown in next picture.