Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tips for going from GL1800 to Ultra Classic

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2012, 02:04 PM
Guzz
Tourer
Received 23 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Tips for going from GL1800 to Ultra Classic

Hi all. I have been riding for about 40 years. My first bike was a 39 Knucklehead. Over the years it was chopped, rstored, converted to a Panhead, a Pan Shovel, stroked, you name it. Ten years ago I bought an 1800 Goldwaing and I loved that bike. I put 97,000 miles on it and covered the lower 48 states. All of my friends ride Harley's and always have but I fit right in as they know where my heart is, riding.

Last week I traded in my GL1800 for a 2012 Ultra Classic (brand new). My original intention was to buy a used bike and keep my wing, but youo know how sales people are. I got talked into the new bike, and although I loved my wing and am going to miss it, I think I am going to be very happy with my new Ultra.

I was actually quite surprised with the handling of the new bike, and it feels MUCH lighter to me. I feel more comfortable leaning into hard turns with the Ultra. The only thing I really miss is the power (and reverse until I learn to change my parking habits )

Most of my brothers are riding 96" Road Kings, with a few Street Glides and Baggers and a couple of other 103's. Although I myself do a lot of touring, I also find myself bar-hopping with them a lot on the weekends, and for the past 10 years have been way out front when they decide to roll on the throttle and go for it. It felt good to be King, and I want to make sure that I can at least give a good showing.