Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Accessory wires to battery terminal

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2012, 12:22 PM
Cougar1959
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Accessory wires to battery terminal

I tried "search", but could not find anything. I have 5 accessory wires, individually, going to my battery terminals. Is there a way to have these 5 wires, tied together, so you only have one connection hooked to the battery terminal? It is very cluttered, with 5 single battery connections, going to each terminal. I have limited electrical knowledge, so I just want to make sure, I don't blow anything.

Thanks, for any help.

The following users liked this post:
PhillySoldier (02-08-2021)
Old 09-07-2012, 12:46 PM
mrfikser
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 29 Likes on 24 Posts

you could crimp them all into one lug..

Old 09-07-2012, 12:49 PM
Fast Aire
Former Sponsor
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Go to an auto or electrical store and get a terminal with a hole in the wire attachment blade big enough to put all the wires into. The terminal size would depend on the wire guages youre putting into it. I would suggest using solder to make sure of a good connection. Be sure to insulate the Pos side to prevent possible future issues.

But, putting 5 wires into one terminal is not for the unexperienced mechanic so if possible, you'd be better off getting a local Indy shop to do it for you.

Old 09-07-2012, 01:16 PM
iclick
Extreme HDF Member
Received 45 Likes on 31 Posts

I would also solder and heatshrink the wires in place once crimped, as you don't want one or more to work their way loose in time. Remember, Murphy is up there somewhere, waiting.... Remember the 15th corollary to Murphy's Law is "An electrical connection will fail at the most inopportune time and farthest distance away from accessible tools."