Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie trying to stretch the miles

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2014, 10:47 PM
Ibfuelish
Road Captain
Received 29 Likes on 25 Posts
Default Newbie trying to stretch the miles

Ok, so I'm new to riding on the road. Ridden dirt forever. (which don't mean crap...yeah I know) Got a 2014 Road King end of May 2014. Ive got 3000 miles on it already.

I just did a 300 mile ride today and am wondering what is the magic number one should be able to ride in a day to actually tour the country, given work, standard vacation limitations, etc.

Is it 500? When you all head out to Sturgis, what's the ride break down into?

Mike

Old 09-02-2014, 10:52 PM
Lawleywood
Tourer
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

I am in Colorado and just went to Sturgis. Its only about 430 miles for me. With 8 bikes heading up, we made it up there in about 7 and a half hours. On the way home, I rode by myself, I made it back in 6 hours. I would say 5-600 miles a day is a pretty good target.

Old 09-02-2014, 11:12 PM
Ibfuelish
Road Captain

I'm in the middle of California, so it looks like almost a 1500 mile ride. Couple of different ways to get there. Way North Route through Yellowstone, North Route through Reno/Salt Lake and the southern route through Vegas, Grand Junction.

Which do you all like?

Old 09-02-2014, 11:43 PM
SafetyMan
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 79 Likes on 65 Posts

If I'm on a mission to get somewhere... 750 - 800 is not unreasonable.

I can get 1500 in 2 days.

If the "journey" is part of the vacation... then usually around 500 a day.

Old 09-03-2014, 12:56 AM
Highwayman-AL
Tourer
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

I see an question that would be tough to answer. Lots depends on it. There is an Iron Butt challenge do ride the 48 in 10 days, that would over 1000 miles a day.