Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2016 Dyna Wide Glide New Front Wheel and Tire

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2021, 09:11 PM
Kix
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post 2016 Dyna Wide Glide New Front Wheel and Tire

I am new to motorcycling and I recently bought a 2016 Dyna Wide Glide. I have read that a lot of people who own wide glides feel the front tire needs to be upgraded to a 90/90-21 and in some threads people have upgraded the rim as well to accommodate a 120/70-21 tire. I am looking to get a beefier front tire on my bike as well. I hear the bigger tire in the front makes the ride feel better, be more stable, and helps with conquering such things as uneven pavement and potholes. I haven't owned my wide glide that long and I have heard that spoked wheels are a pain because they have to be adjusted a lot and are hard to clean. So with that said I have a few questions that I am sure probably are talked about somewhere else in these forums, however I wanted to ask so that I had all my information in one spot and could ask follow up questions if needed without having to jump all over the forums to get the answer.

1) I know spoked wheels look nice, however I would rather have a machined wheel and not have to use a tube. Does anyone have experience with a machined front and rear wheel on your Wide Glide? Are spoked wheels really a pain to maintain?

2) Going along with the change out of the front wheel. Does anyone have experience with an 18" front wheel with maybe a 120/90-18 tire? The reason I ask is this would be about the same size as the current 21" wheel with tire on it.