EVO All Evo Model Discussion

Your thoughts on 1985 FXEF

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2007, 05:20 PM
Dublin
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Your thoughts on 1985 FXEF

Hi, I'm new on this board and need your advice. Here is the skinny, a couple of days ago Idrove a Harley for the first time(about 10 min)and I have to say,it sure is a different ride.I have been driving "metric bikes" for 30 years and I thought I would try an H-Dand maybe addone to my stable. I do not know much about Harleys, but I ammechanicallyinclinedand have (and still do) work on car engines and "metric bikes",that said, my buddy sellinghis 1985 FXEF-80, 4-speed,chain drive, with 22,500 original miles on the clock. It is in very good to excellent condition and runs/drivesgood. He is a good freindand is going to let me drive it for a couple of days to see if it is what I want. I guess what I would like to know is, arethere anythingparticular problemsI should look at or be aware of.Good things? He would sell the bike tome for$4000.
Thanks for any info you can give me.
Dublin

Old 06-11-2007, 05:22 PM
anubisss
Banned
Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts
Default RE: Your thoughts on 1985 FXEF

That seems to be a really good price if the bike is in as good condition as you say. I say it's a keeper...

Old 06-11-2007, 05:48 PM
EVOrider
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 275 Likes on 202 Posts

I always liked those bikes and they rode pretty well too. I had an early 1984 FXEF years ago, mine had the Shovel as the one you are looking at has the EVO.

There are not really any known problems to look out for reguarding the machine. The EVO was one of the best engines ever designed by Harley. It it has been well kept and well maintained through the years....you are in good shape.

Do you have any photos? Any rate, sounds like a good deal.

Old 06-11-2007, 06:40 PM
HD7585
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts

Great Bike,Great Price!

Old 06-11-2007, 09:01 PM
notlost_nc
Road Master