EVO All Evo Model Discussion

Fuel cap lid, Vapor Lock, and VOES

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2018, 09:43 PM
Cowboy812
Advanced
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Fuel cap lid, Vapor Lock, and VOES

Ok guys, so here’s my issue of the week.

those who have followed my threads know I’m kinda new to working on motorcycles. But I have it running pretty damn good now. Issue is that intermittently I will get sputtering and lack of power at WOT. At first I thought maybe I had a dirty petcock filter, but that wasn’t an issue.

So after looking at the tank, I have a gravity fed petcock and a Vacuum fuel cap (tank is not vented). This didn’t make sense, but apparently the petcock was swapped at some point by the previous owner. I was thinking Vapor Lock was what was going on, and after some research, it made sense. I waited until I noticed that first sputter, pulled off, and fuel cap was under a lot of pressure. I went ahead and filled my tank, left the fuel door unlocked, then went WOT for about 15-20 miles and it started again. I lifted the door, opened the cap almost fully, ran a bit better, then had it totally unscrewed (not off, just fully vented) and it was probably the best it had performed since I got the bike.

so obviously I’ll need a vented gas cap, but will I need to adjust the settings of the VOES? And if so, what would I need to do to it?

probably dumb but it makes sense to me (change the vacuum to the carb, then the vacuum coming out doesn’t work right?

Short version:
Bike runs like **** randomly after getting hot, it is vapor locking, and the fuel cap is non vented. If I change to a vented style do I need alter the VOES?

Old 09-13-2018, 03:37 AM
0maha
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 4,668 Likes on 1,660 Posts

Short answer to your short version: No.

The VOES is triggered by engine vacuum and is not effected by negative pressure in the tank.