EVO All Evo Model Discussion

Not Another Crankcase Breather Oil Problem after all

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2007, 11:57 AM
uesque
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Not Another Crankcase Breather Oil Problem after all

1989 FXRS-SP. When I first bought it I had the it sat too long oil coming out of the breather tube, which went away once I started riding it. Now I'm having a similar problem with oil coming out of the breather tube and it's getting progressively worse even though I'm riding every day. I changed the oil about a month ago, but this only started appearing about a week ago. Thoughts?

Old 08-15-2007, 12:15 PM
JBaker421
Big Kahuna HDF Member
Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts
Default RE: Yet Another Crankcase Breather Oil Problem/Question

If I over fill my 86 evo it will do that. Be sure the bike is level when you check it - not on the kickstand. In fact mine does better at about 1/2 quart low.

I did have to replace the check valve once when it was doing that. It's fairly low down on the back of the engine and one of the rubber hoses (oil lines) attaches to it.

No matter what, my 86 will puke some oil after it sits a long time. (Many weeks or months.) It does quit though. I think that's common, at least with the early ones.

Old 08-15-2007, 01:23 PM
uesque
Tourer

ORIGINAL: JBaker421

If I over fill my 86 evo it will do that. Be sure the bike is level when you check it - not on the kickstand. In fact mine does better at about 1/2 quart low.

I did have to replace the check valve once when it was doing that. It's fairly low down on the back of the engine and one of the rubber hoses (oil lines) attaches to it.

No matter what, my 86 will puke some oil after it sits a long time. (Many weeks or months.) It does quit though. I think that's common, at least with the early ones.