EVO All Evo Model Discussion

evo cam bearing 101

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2006, 09:41 PM
zukeeper
Elite HDF Member
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default evo cam bearing 101

OK , I graduated from a shovel to an evo thinking with the evo I wouldn't have near the problems and I could spend a winter on playing dress up instead of re-build. Now all I hear about is H.D put some crap *** cam bearing in my motor ( 1998 stock evo 1340 engine) so , and yes I know this has been the topic of several threads but I still want to ask fresh a couple questions so please don't flame me...

1) my bike has 10,000 miles and so far so good , does anybody have a rough guess as to percentage of engines that bearings went bad ? My buddy has 73,000 on his and no problems , I have 10 and am worried.

2) I am a little (OK a lot ) evo ignorant for the moment but I have the H.D. service manual , it looks like I'll have to pull the heads because the pushrods are non-adjustable to change the cam bearing. Is this correct ?

Old 10-23-2006, 10:09 PM
Punky Brewster
Banned
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: evo cam bearing 101

ORIGINAL: zukeeper

OK , I graduated from a shovel to an evo thinking with the evo I wouldn't have near the problems and I could spend a winter on playing dress up instead of re-build. Now all I hear about is H.D put some crap *** cam bearing in my motor ( 1998 stock evo 1340 engine) so , and yes I know this has been the topic of several threads but I still want to ask fresh a couple questions so please don't flame me...

1) my bike has 10,000 miles and so far so good , does anybody have a rough guess as to percentage of engines that bearings went bad ? My buddy has 73,000 on his and no problems , I have 10 and am worried.

2) I am a little (OK a lot ) evo ignorant for the moment but I have the H.D. service manual , it looks like I'll have to pull the heads because the pushrods are non-adjustable to change the cam bearing. Is this correct ?