General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New guy from Texas

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2017, 09:11 PM
wizard-tx
Stage IV
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New guy from Texas

Hey y'all just joined here. I think I've outgrown my metric bike and I'm looking for something "new". I've got my eyes on a 2011 Electra Glide Ultra Limited with about 45k on it. It's a huge step up from what I've got now in so many ways.

Anything specific I should be looking out for on these bikes? I'm pretty new to HD but I've done some reading, just having to learn and sift through some of the Harley lingo.

Old 02-16-2017, 09:16 PM
coach127
Tourer
Received 52 Likes on 45 Posts

Welcome to the site. Go to the shop talk to the sells people and people in the shop they will be able to answer any of your questions. I was in SA a few months ago it has really change in the last 15 years. Good luck with your purchase.

Old 02-16-2017, 09:19 PM
BuzzCap7
Received 18,342 Likes on 10,704 Posts

G'day mate and welcome from Sunny S. Florida.

There are many things abt the ultra we can talk about but simply, make sure you are comfortable with it. Comfort is everything.

The Ultra family is fantastic. That is all I ride.

Do ur feet reach the ground well enough? Do u need a detachable trunk?

Know the controls, where they are so there is less looking down to figure out how to put the cruise control on etc....

I am very excited for you my friend.

You will love it!

Oh, I got the ultra since I was joining the Drill Team and traveling across the USA. Now that I am not doing either, I will not give it up for all the city riding I do. It is GREAT to have all the carrying space and again, the comfort in city tooling around beats the smaller bikes that are good but not as luxurious.

Enjoy!!

BuzzCap7

Originally Posted by coach127