General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The loss of our spark, and rebuilding our engines...

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2017, 08:26 AM
Donald Mazz Derby
Advanced
Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
Default The loss of our spark, and rebuilding our engines...

I am in a rather off mood today and thought I'd post something we all may relate to.

When I started riding it was on Japanese Standard Motorcycles. This morphed into Japanese Superbikes from the 80's. Eventually Just going fast wasn't enough. It became time to look cool. Xs1100 choppers, bobbers with Gixer motors and no front brake on a springer. Eventually despite regularly doing 500 mile days on my hardtail jap bikes it was time to get some better comfort for the ride and I switched to my VS1400, suzukis knock of of a FXWDG. Plenty quick enough but the comfort sucked.

Got a Goldwing but the sound wasn't there. Blew up the gold wing and got a VTX1800. Perfect combo of sound and power but something was missing...Oh yeah it was the soul. The bike was Too smooth, too reliable, just too easy. It required nothing but fuel an oil change every 5k and tires every 10K.

Got rid of the VTX to my little brother and bought my 90 Evo Electraglide. Much better, smooth enough, decent power, and finicky enough to keep me busy. However she was an old steed with more needed TLC then I have money and honestly the windshield was turning me into a windbitch. Went down to the local dealer for parts and found what i needed to fix my soul.

Enter my 2001 FXST. Smooth, powerful, reliable. Perfect sound. Put on my apes and tires and ignition and pipes...after all we cant leave our new bike alone can we? Every morning the choke coxes her to life and she just rides.