General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Learning without a license?

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2008, 12:33 PM
dmercer
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Learning without a license?

Hi all, I'm in a bit of a bind as far as getting my license. I picked up my bike last Tuesday and stashed it safely in my garage. I'm a South Dakota resident, but I live in ND while I finish school. The nearest SD DMV is just over an hour away, which isn't bad, but I'd have to drive an hour home to get the old man's pickup and trailer in order to get my bike there, as I'm guessing the state examiner wouldn't be too happy if I rode my bike to take the exam.

I've done a massive search through the forum and found lots of stories of people failing the test the first (several) times because
a) they weren't prepared for the type of driving the state wanted to see (lots of slow speed stuff)
b) they decided their bike was too big / too top heavy / etc

Obviously I'm going to have to ride some before I'm comfortable enough to take the test. I've driven dirtbikes and some smaller sportbikes in the past when friends have owned them, but the Sportster is quite a bit different than those. Further, It's not like learning in a car where you can have someone that knows what they're doing riding shotgun. How much did you all ride before taking the test, and what was the DMV test like in your state?

I have the option of waiving the DMV test if I take a state approved saftey course, but the nearest one is a hair over 2 hours away, and they're typically run 3 weeknights in a row for 5 hours each, which is a real pain. I'd love to take the course, and will in the future if I don't know, but it's just a huge inconvenience with school and work.

What would you recommend? Drop the cash for gas and the course? Ride around some quiet neighborhoods until I feel confident and trailer the bike to the DMV?