General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is it possible, or even a good idea to extend foot controls?

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2011, 10:28 PM
rsarno
Road Master
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Is it possible, or even a good idea to extend foot controls?

If my floorboards were out another inch, and brake pedal was out maybe another 2 inches ... i think i might be happier.

Is that possible? Or has anyone tried it and found it was annoying or something? Maybe would the floorboards stick out too far when leaning or something?

Thanks im very new to this, havent put much thought or research into it.

i have an 04 FLSTCI

Old 06-24-2011, 11:10 PM
Just Dave
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 11 Likes on 5 Posts

Lots of folks make Forward control Extensions, I have a 3" set on a Softail Custom and it is much finer than the factory. They won't work with crash bars installed though. These are the ones I installed. http://www.jpcycles.com/product/540-...utm_medium=cse

Old 06-24-2011, 11:29 PM
rsarno
Road Master

How did i know it would be a couple hundred bucks lol

i was thinking maybe the arm that the pad connects to, maybe someone made one that places the pad a bit further away from bike .. so i dont have to bend my foot inward to use the break

was hoping would be like a $50 mod, darnit

Old 06-24-2011, 11:37 PM
j1mmy
Elite HDF Member
Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts

you can buy spacers that move your boards out 1/2-1"..kits cost about $40.i have had a 1"set on my 01 EG for 2 years. haven't scrapped the boards once.they make extended brakes and shifters but it gets really pricy

Old 06-24-2011, 11:42 PM
Grummpy Bear
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts