Ironhead A place to talk about Ironheads.

81 Sportster Running Rough

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2006, 12:18 PM
nicksorg
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 81 Sportster Running Rough

Hi guys. Just purchased an 81 sporty. I rode sportbikes for years, so I'm new to this engine. This bike has an S&S Super E carb. When I first got it, the engine would only run with the enricher on. During the road test it hesitated shifting through all the gears. It would periodically dump gas through the overflow hose.

I cleaned the carb and rebuilt it with a kit, installed, adjusted the idle and the mixture. It runs much better now and idles with the enricher off. Took it for a ride and it hesitates really bad on acceleration and backfires quite a bit. Should I check ignition next?
Thanks.
Nick

Old 10-30-2006, 02:21 PM
Denbo
Tourer
Default RE: 81 Sportster Running Rough

If I was running my race car I'd say the float is stuck but since it doesn't I'd say possibly some foriegn matter on the needle valve holding it open possiblly why it is dumping gas.

Old 10-30-2006, 02:49 PM
nicksorg
Intermediate

It hasn't dumped gas out of the overflow since the rebuild, so the new needle probably fixed that. Just no acceleration and backfiring when I ride it.

Old 10-30-2006, 03:14 PM
Denbo
Tourer

How do the plugs look? Then from there I go into an air leak, spray the intake manifold with wd-40 and see if it speeds up at idle if it does then you have a leak through the manifold.Then look into ingition issues.

Old 10-31-2006, 02:20 AM
nicksorg
Intermediate

Thanks for the replies. I ran the bike and after it warmed up I sprayed WD-40 around the manifold. Didn't make a difference with the idle. Pulled the plugs. They are Champion H8C and look black and sooty, so if I remember correctly, its too rich. I just checked the plug. My year calls for Champion RL82YC. Maybe the plug is the problem. Thoughts?

Old 10-31-2006, 04:22 AM
sepixlh
Road Master
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts