Harley Davidson Forums

Harley Davidson Forums (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/)
-   Milwaukee Eight (M8) (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/milwaukee-eight-m8-198/)
-   -   Decatting stock headers (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/milwaukee-eight-m8/1354588-decatting-stock-headers.html)

teedoff65 12-19-2020 02:10 PM

Decatting stock headers

For those of you that have decatted your headers, how important is it to grind down the crossover piece that sticks up about 1/2 to 3/4 inch?

Bought a carbide grinding stone but doesn't seem to work very well. What did you use if it does need to be ground down?

I thought I read here that you need to grind it down for proper flow.

Thanks in advance for any tips.

Fddk 12-20-2020 11:03 AM

When I did mine I didn’t bother. I’m no expert but the M8 likes a little back pressure any ways. I suppose it does affect flow a bit. With the MK 45 mufflers and baffles, a Fuel Moto map the bike runs great with a lot less felt heat.

teedoff65 12-20-2020 11:25 AM

Originally Posted by Fddk (Post 19611878)
When I did mine I didn’t bother. I’m no expert but the M8 likes a little back pressure any ways. I suppose it does affect flow a bit. With the MK 45 mufflers and baffles, a Fuel Moto map the bike runs great with a lot less felt heat.

Thanks. For now I'm running the SE tq cam and outlaw mufflers. Wanted to do the headers and see if i gain any sound with the se cam. At the very least I can get rid of some heat on my right leg. Eventually ill do a decent cam and tuner.

Cool thanks. I think I'll leave it as is and install sometime this week.

Fddk 12-20-2020 05:46 PM

Does sound deeper and a little louder. I’m putting in the WM822X cam this winter. Can’t wait to see how it goes then, heard good things.

AmericanClassicMotors 12-20-2020 09:13 PM