Sponsored by:

Decatting stock headers

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2020, 02:10 PM
teedoff65
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 1,481 Likes on 1,067 Posts
Default Decatting stock headers

For those of you that have decatted your headers, how important is it to grind down the crossover piece that sticks up about 1/2 to 3/4 inch?

Bought a carbide grinding stone but doesn't seem to work very well. What did you use if it does need to be ground down?

I thought I read here that you need to grind it down for proper flow.

Thanks in advance for any tips.

Old 12-20-2020, 11:03 AM
Fddk
Advanced
Received 31 Likes on 18 Posts

When I did mine I didn’t bother. I’m no expert but the M8 likes a little back pressure any ways. I suppose it does affect flow a bit. With the MK 45 mufflers and baffles, a Fuel Moto map the bike runs great with a lot less felt heat.

Old 12-20-2020, 11:25 AM
teedoff65
Seasoned HDF Member

Originally Posted by Fddk
When I did mine I didn’t bother. I’m no expert but the M8 likes a little back pressure any ways. I suppose it does affect flow a bit. With the MK 45 mufflers and baffles, a Fuel Moto map the bike runs great with a lot less felt heat.
Thanks. For now I'm running the SE tq cam and outlaw mufflers. Wanted to do the headers and see if i gain any sound with the se cam. At the very least I can get rid of some heat on my right leg. Eventually ill do a decent cam and tuner.

Cool thanks. I think I'll leave it as is and install sometime this week.

Old 12-20-2020, 05:46 PM
Fddk
Advanced
Received 31 Likes on 18 Posts

Does sound deeper and a little louder. I’m putting in the WM822X cam this winter. Can’t wait to see how it goes then, heard good things.

Old 12-20-2020, 09:13 PM
AmericanClassicMotors
Former Sponsor
Received 21 Likes on 14 Posts