Shovelhead A place to talk about Shovelheads.

How hot is too hot

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2009, 10:43 AM
dedjr67
Road Master
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How hot is too hot

I am new to the Harley and Shovelhead world and I am used to the metric water cooled bikes. My 82 FXE is running at around 215 to 225 degrees on a 60 degree day after going 20 miles down I 95 at 70 mph is this too hot? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also when it gets warm I am getting a little bit of oil smoke from the rear cylinder not constant just when letting off the gas or when revving up engine only from rear and only when hot.

Old 11-29-2009, 11:36 AM
sqdealgeorge
Road Warrior
Received 17 Likes on 17 Posts

Are you using 50 WT oil ?

Old 11-29-2009, 11:39 AM
dedjr67
Road Master

Just got the bike two weeks ago it spent the first week in the shop had all fluids changed was told they used 50 weight oil.

Old 11-29-2009, 12:04 PM
FilthyLucre
Road Master
Received 34 Likes on 30 Posts

Thats a little warm but not too hot. Check for intake and exhaust leaks. Intake leaks can be detected by spraying, carb cleaner, wd 40 or something similar around the manifold o-rings while it is idling. If it speeds up or slows down you have a leak. You can feel an exhaust leak. Check the timing. You could also fit an oil cooler. They usually make a 20 degree difference.

Old 11-29-2009, 01:41 PM
dedjr67
Road Master

not feeling any exhaust leaks no change in idle when spraying brake clean. Also just noticed oil weeping from head gasket area on rear cylinder. Looks like time to experience my first (from what I hear many) top end rebuild. Can anyone reccomend a good gasket kit? Thanks Dennis

Old 11-29-2009, 01:43 PM
dedjr67
Road Master

Another question I have is should I isolate the primary from the rest of the oiling system?

Old 11-29-2009, 01:54 PM
E. Flasso Hornman
Banned

Originally Posted by dedjr67