Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

2003 fatboy no speedo, won't idle at stops.

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2024, 04:41 PM
Fatboythiuck
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2003 fatboy no speedo, won't idle at stops.

Hello everybody, new member, this is my first post. I'm very mechanically inclined, but I have very little experience with motorcycles, most of it is from working on this bike.

I have a 2003 Fatboy I'm trying to diagnose. Need help as to where to go next. This bike is heavily modified. Woods cams, big bore kit, posted heads, it's tuned directly to the computer. (Had issues with the piggy back).

First, the problem(s): about a year ago I started having this issue. I have no speedo, but also the bike won't idle at almost every stop I come to. Either hit the kill switch or crack the throttle to keep it running at a stop.

What I've done: I've flushed all the oil shavings from the tranny, I'm on the 4th flush (I read that the metal shavings can interfere with the signal and seen that in the past...with other stuff). I've replaced the speed sensor, with a factory harley sensor, no change. I OHMed the wires from the speed sensor to the speedo, .1 or .2 every time. I tried a different, known good speedo, no change.

I'm assuming I have a wiring problem somewhere, just not sure where to get the right diagram.

I've also read about the fuel lines inside the tank cracking from E10/E15 and causing the same issue. I was thinking the speedo is related as the symptoms started at the same time. The lines have been replaced already, just not recently (7-8 years ago) Any ideas, or direction would be extremely helpful.

Old 05-20-2024, 05:21 PM
Lonewolf176
Road Warrior
Received 304 Likes on 194 Posts