Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hello and question on Sandy Flood damage/frame

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2013, 08:48 AM
rpmpit
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Hello and question on Sandy Flood damage/frame

Hi. My name is Ralph and I've just recently joined the forum. I'm a mech engineer and have been working on cars & bikes (mostly cars) most of my life. I recently bought a '88 Heritage Softail FLST from a friend who lost his house (literally) during Hurricane Sandy. The bike was at a neighbors house that survived the storm. However, the bike was submerged for about an hour in salt water. My friend hosed off the bike with fresh water almost immediately. I'm having the motor redone by Harley and also having them look over the trans (also having them do the 25mm Heartland offset main shaft since I'm doing the 250 conversion). I'm going to completely dissassemble and rebuild the front suspension and replace all bearings, brake components and electrical components, including all wiring, circuit breakers, connectors, etc. Also new clutch, primary, etc. Basically, replacing or restoring everything on the bike. And since you're probably wondering why my buddy didn't go through his insurance to repair or replace the bike, he didn't have coverage on it.

Here's the question. A tech/mechanic at the Harley dealer told me his main concern (since I'm replacing everything else) would be the frame. He said he's heard of a process where they dip the frame in some kind of electrified fluid to reverse the rusting that could be happening internally. And since I'm stripping the bike, he would definitely do it. The manager of the service dept. is looking into it for me to see if he can find someone locally who could do it. Have any of you heard of this?? Any other suggestions?? Thanks in advance.