Southwest Arizona | New Mexico | Oklahoma | Texas

Fun stuff to do in San Antonio and Austin

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2018, 05:20 AM
Gas Smasher
Road Captain

Received 649 Likes on 280 Posts
Default Fun stuff to do in San Antonio and Austin

I have been to San Antonio and Austin several times and really love the area, but have never spent a lot of time there and don't know much other than the big name tourist things like the River Walk and 6th Street.

I have a good friend and his wife who live in Colorado coming down to meet me and my girlfriend in San Antonio for 3 days in middle of October. They have never been to San Antonio or Austin. Unfortunately, we won't have motorcycles for this trip unless we rent them. I am a mechanic by trade and so is my buddy. He fabricates a fair bit of stuff and does amazing work. We all like motorcycles, old stuff, good food, cool places. We are our 50's so we have slowed down a little, but we still like some partying. I was thinking about a tour at Deep Eddy, but it looks like they are not running right now.

Can anyone give me some ideas of fun stuff to do in the area that isn't really tourist stuff like amusement parks? Is the Austin Speed Shop worth a visit? Any neat old places or restaurants off the beaten path? Any brewery or distillery tours that cool and not half a day? Would a day of bike rentals be a good idea?

Would just really appreciate any suggestions from folks that know the area.

Old 09-24-2018, 07:41 PM
springers4ever
Road Master
Received 228 Likes on 134 Posts
Cool Austin...

Originally Posted by Gas Smasher
I have been to San Antonio and Austin several times and really love the area, but have never spent a lot of time there and don't know much other than the big name tourist things like the River Walk and 6th Street.