Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2017 48 Cam upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2016, 08:58 AM
rheistand
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2017 48 Cam upgrade

Hi all. I have searched but perhaps I don't know the key words well enough to get any good results to my questions as I am new to the harley world.

Bought the 48 and they are putting on v&h short shots and intake. Id like to add a little power and the dealer recommended cams. But I read that if you do anything more than bolt on the work involved would be wasteful, you might as well add compression by doing head work at that point? and the bolt ons dont add much power, and it sounds like if you wanted to do more down the road you wouldn't do it with the bolt in cam. which would be wasteful.

Is this all correct and does anyone have recommendations on what to do for 1-2k? Another concern is I love the sound of the bike at idle. One of the reasons I got a harley. I don't want the loop of the engine to sound funky.

Also keep in mind this is a new bike. Thanks in advance for the input!

Old 09-20-2016, 09:31 AM
deadrubberboy
Road Master
Received 118 Likes on 107 Posts

I'll bite:

A) it's new. Ride it first for a while and enjoy. Break it in etc - don't do anything else yet
B) Consider something besides the Short Shots if you're looking for power. I don't knock the SS's (I have them - came on the bike from previous owner), but from what I've read they do NOT make as much power as many other options in the same (or even lower) price range.
C) Before cams - get a Power Vision tuner. After changing exhaust/intake you will require a tune, and if you're already thinking of going further you'll need a good tuner for that too and PV is the best out there.