Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Profit over Safety

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2018, 12:07 AM
KumaRide
Elite HDF Member
Received 185 Likes on 146 Posts

Originally Posted by GalvTexGuy
Yeah, everything you have brought up has been hashed and rehashed in many threads in the last 9 months. You should come around more often and join the conversation!

Its not an issue or concern until it happens to their bike. I have been hashing this for over 3 years. Only a couple were believers back then. Many others believe now and more will be joining in. Unfortunately its too late for a true fix as the recall flush is the official fix. If more believed a couple years ago perhaps this would have been addressed properly.

Originally Posted by eravo
So this week I became a victim of the ABS failure resulting in no rear brakes. I have changed my brake fluid but not per the recommended schedule. I take full responsibility for this and will have to pay for the replacement HCU. My problem is the design, this happened without warning and it happened 21 miles after the dealer performed the recall. The failure without warning (no ABS failure light) disabled my rear brakes. In any other vehicle if the ABS fails it does not render the brakes inoperable.

This is a major design flaw which required a major recall to change the brake fluid. Changing the brake fluid will not alleviate the defect in the HCU. It may prevent the unit from failing but there's no guarantee the unit will not fail over time. What happens when the unit fails from being old or worn? The same thing you lose your braking capability without warning.

So you have to ask why, why would HD create a major recall on a maintenance issue? It's called cover your azz... I don't see HD creating a recall for any other maintenance items.