Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

88" cam swap

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2012, 11:54 PM
jcb1975@yahoo.com
Tourer
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 88" cam swap

I am about to break open my 1999 FLHTCUI to deal with the bearings and the tensioners and will swap the cams while I am in there. This is my first time in a T/C so naturally I have a bunch of questions. I guess I can start by telling what I know for sure, and then go from there.
I will be the first one to open up the motor, so it is a near stock 99. As of now I have an A/N Big Sucker, V/H 2-1 propipe, and a PCIII courtesy of Fuel Moto to make it all happen. When I am in the cam chest, I have a set of Andrews 26's to install for kicks. As of now I am not sure if I will be upgrading the cam plate. If it is servicable, I will not. I would rather not spend the money right now, and wait until I go big bore, and will likely change the cams again, to match some head work. Money is kind of tight right now, but I need to get in there and replace the tensioners and bearings.
I am going to remove the tank and rockers to upgrade the breathers, and I really do not want to use adjustable push rods. They are just another thing to have go out of adjustment as far as I'm concerned, and for now, I would rather just avoid it. I also am going to try and re-use the lifters, unless it is highly recomended not too. If i re-use the stock cam plate and oil pump, i wil go with the baisley spring to increase oil pressure.
As of now I am not sure how long it will be until I will go big bore, but figure it will not be more then two years.