Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Abs

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2013, 04:41 PM
osudvm
Tourer
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Abs

I am still new to the Harley big bikes (2009 Ultra Classic) and was practicing my slow drills and braking. I was braking hard at 30-40mph for practice and toward the end of the braking/stopping I consistently heard some noise. I assume this is the ABS coming on/off. Hard to describe the sound I was hearing but it was only when I braked hard. Thanks for your help.

Old 01-26-2013, 04:53 PM
Keithhu
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 5,454 Likes on 2,660 Posts

Likely ABS. If ABS kicked in, the wheels started to lock, so better keep practicing braking.

Old 01-26-2013, 05:42 PM
motorlessons
Tourer

It's impossible to say for sure from your description, but...

You only mention what you hear, and not that you feel anything. The H-D ABS system is designed to have a particularly strong pulse in the lever/pedal; so you would likely feel that.

You mention it's right at the end of your braking. All ABS systems disable at very low speeds. They have to work this way, or the end of every stop would be very long. One consequence of this is that, once the motor is at that low speed (less than 3-5 MPH), ABS is inactive, and thus you can get a moment's skid, with the accompanying noise. At that speed - particularly if it's the rear wheel (which is the more liley anyway), you won't feel anything from a locked tire, and it's not really hurting anything.

Harris
Denver, CO

www.youtube.com/conedown

Old 01-26-2013, 08:42 PM
osudvm
Tourer

Originally Posted by Keithhu
Likely ABS. If ABS kicked in, the wheels started to lock, so better keep practicing braking.