Are you KIDDING me? - Page 2 - Harley Davidson Forums

Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Are you KIDDING me?

  #11  
Old 04-19-2014, 08:18 PM
SG-Jay's Avatar
SG-Jay
SG-Jay is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 606
Thanked 30 Times in 27 Posts
Default

I made the tool from a thin piece of steel folded over a couple times. Copper pipe also works. I wouldn't wait for the tool. As for that dealer, you should post the name, and never deal with them again.
 
  #12  
Old 04-19-2014, 08:19 PM
Hausguy's Avatar
Hausguy
Hausguy is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,149
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

A lot of cooks in this kitchen.
 
  #13  
Old 04-19-2014, 08:22 PM
SG-Jay's Avatar
SG-Jay
SG-Jay is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 606
Thanked 30 Times in 27 Posts
Default

This is what mine looks like, and it works.
 
Attached Thumbnails Are you KIDDING me?-2014-04-19-20.13.54.jpg   Are you KIDDING me?-2014-04-19-20.14.01.jpg  
  #14  
Old 04-19-2014, 09:09 PM
Slab1648
Slab1648 is offline
New Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I will say all dealerships are not the same. My local dealership will barely give you the time of day. I rode to the upstate of South Carolina from my home in the midlands of SC last weekend. Got there and mashed down on the toe shifter which proceeded to go all the way to the floor board. Limped in to Greenville Harley and not only did they come out and look at it in the parking lot, agree with my proposed repair to make it home, but loaned me the tools from the shop for me to fix it in their parking lot. They even came out and made sure I didn't need any help and made suggestions as to how to correctly fix the problem knowing I wasn't gonna pay anyone to fix it as I do all the work I can to my bike myself. So I spent a whole $17 to by the part to fix my problem when I got back to my shop. That's customer service.
 
  #15  
Old 04-19-2014, 10:38 PM
RottnRam's Avatar
RottnRam
RottnRam is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 216
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
  #16  
Old 04-19-2014, 10:50 PM
Punjabi HD's Avatar
Punjabi HD
Punjabi HD is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Joaquin valley CA
Posts: 3,346
Thanked 87 Times in 82 Posts
Default

Even looking with the flash light and can be corrected with just reinserting the ignition to align it all up.
 
  #17  
Old 04-19-2014, 10:53 PM
PFWiz's Avatar
PFWiz
PFWiz is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northern, Ohio (Yuck!)
Posts: 2,972
Thanked 134 Times in 97 Posts
Default

I made one out of copper tubing for when I installed my new bars. It worked great!
 
  #18  
Old 04-19-2014, 11:59 PM
BugBYter's Avatar
BugBYter
BugBYter is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Grays Creek, NC
Posts: 473
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

RottnRam....

That's a nice tool there.

Looks like a piece of all-thread, heated, hammered flat and ground to shape???

that's my best guess.
 
  #19  
Old 04-20-2014, 12:46 AM
1Canuck
1Canuck is online now
Club Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: wet coast BC
Posts: 4,750
Thanked 943 Times in 607 Posts
Default

I just re aligned with the switch itself, don't need a tool
 
  #20  
Old 04-20-2014, 01:18 AM
Bruin08's Avatar
Bruin08
Bruin08 is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 403
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Do a search on the net. They have one for 25 dollars that works like a charm. I have used it on my '13 SG several times. If you want to work on your bike and it involves removing the ignition, then this is a MUST have tool in the garage. Other people posting videos of 13 bikes, so I guess it is the same, cant tell you for sure. I learned this the hard way and I ended up having to use a long screw drievr in order to unlock my bars. Just had to keep playing with it in order to get the ignition to fall into place to all the bars to unlock. I never could get the ignition to align so the ignition switch could go back in.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Are you KIDDING me?


Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: