Harley Davidson Forums

Harley Davidson Forums (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/)
-   Welcome Area Only (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/welcome-area-only-4/)
-   -   Newbie question....to trade or not to trade? (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/welcome-area-only/861283-newbie-question-to-trade-or-not-to-trade.html)

Rplora 04-05-2013 01:44 AM

Newbie question....to trade or not to trade?

Hello all,
I'm a newbie on here and first I would like to say hello and thank you in advance. My question is whether this sounds like a good trade. I have a 1996 Road King with a Mikuni carb and upgraded cam shaft. It has 27k original miles on it and is real clean with a 2 tone paint. I had someone approach and want to trade me their 1999 Electra Glide Classic fuel injected with about 30k miles on it. It has a quick release tour pack on it and has had the cams issue taken care of. I had a chance to ride it and it rode well. It might need a clutch cable adjustment but that's it. So the question is to trade or not to trade? Any opinions are welcome to this newbie.
Thanks again!

jeff.georgalas 04-05-2013 02:15 AM

Flat-out trade, no money involved? To me, assuming both bikes are in comparable condition this is a no brainer. But then again I ride a Street Glide and lean that way vs. a Road Kind. Not saying there's anything wrong with them, they're great bikes, they're just not my style. But in my opinion, if you can go to a three year newer bike, with comparable miles, I wouldn't hesitate at all. Hope whatever decision you make works well for you.

Rplora 04-05-2013 02:18 AM

Jeff,
It's a straight trade. The Electra Classic is real clean, no leaks or anything. The ride just seems comfortable and I can remove that tour pack and have a Street Glide look. But I wasn't sure if I should hold on to that Evo.

jeff.georgalas 04-05-2013 02:21 AM