Wheels/Tires Questions and discussion about wheels and tires should be posted here.

Sprocket De-chroming

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2024, 11:48 PM
VanIsleGuy
2nd Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Sprocket De-chroming

So I just got my first Harley last summer(2008 Ultra Classic), I've been on bikes since my teens so going on 30 years now. As I'm new to all things HD I took my bike to the dealer for a once over shortly after I bought it. The only issue of note was that they told my driven sprocket was de-chroming and needed to be replaced, otherwise it would lead to premature belt wear. Does that sound legit? I have no problem with the repair, happy to do it, I just want to make sure I'm not being fed a line.

Thanks,

Old 02-21-2024, 04:36 AM
eighteight
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 4,521 Likes on 2,628 Posts

Although the FSM say`s replace when this occurs, I`ve NEVER seen one where the plating was NOT flaking
JMO

Old 02-21-2024, 05:05 AM
Jackie Paper
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 4,567 Likes on 3,814 Posts

My 04 Softail at around 30,000 had worn the chrome off. I drove when on the way to work about 5 miles of grooved concrete interstate.

It left a fine grinding dust on everything.

At 50,000, you could see a slight orange peal finish on the cog sprocket. Same on the belt but form was still good on both.

It's not like a major disaster in my opinion if form is good. If you need a new belt, going on a cross country trip or such, it should be replaced.

​​​​​​Say you damage the belt with a rock, you should always see if aluminum will scratch with a scribe. That shows hard chrome is worn off. Mine never peeled.

Always replace both cog sprockets and belt. That's called out in service manual.

Actually, soft wears harder. The grit gets in the rubber. That wears thru the hard chrome . That wears the aluminum of course faster then.

Same with spinning shafts in rubber seals. The shafts groove.