Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Dyna Glide Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, FXR Super Glide, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by: True-Track Inc.

Welcome to HDForums.com!

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 08-10-2008, 05:04 PM
muleman muleman is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: KY
Posts: 51
Default HELP!! Installing forward controls on 2003 FXDL with mids.HELP!!

So i just got a set of jaybrake forward controls for my 2003 fxdl it has mids from the factory.. question is what am i going to have to buy to install, i know a shift rod 13in to 15 in hole to hole... but the brake side has a brake reservior on the forward control and i have one on the bike.. how will i deal with this... any help would help. thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-2008, 05:42 PM
benwiggin2's Avatar
benwiggin2 benwiggin2 is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The wild, wild, west.
Posts: 1,197
Default

So, it came with a brake resevoir, but didn't come with a shift rod? Also, most important question, didn't come with instructions???
__________________
08 Fat Bob,SE HB,V&H SS Staggered,V&H FP, XIED's, H.I.D.,T-Trac'd, Ricor'd w/ Works Triple Rate Front End
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2008, 05:50 PM
muleman muleman is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: KY
Posts: 51
Default

they are used no instructions... they came off a dyna that already had forwards on it, so they used the shift rod on the orginals.. the shift rod is no big deal... jsut the brake set up any help....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2008, 06:40 PM
8541hog's Avatar
8541hog 8541hog is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dublin, CA
Posts: 6,398
8541hog
Send a message via Skype™ to 8541hog
Default

You will need to buy a universal brake line, I just did this on my wide glide, you can reuse the sending unit switch, but pretty much everything else will have to be new
It is not difficult, the hardest part was finding a shop that stocked what I needed, you will need crush washers for the banjo bolts, you may need to extend the wires to the new location of the sending unit, and you will need clamps for the new brake line
PM me if you need details
__________________

I don't ride to putt, I putt to ride!

8541hog.net 05 Wide Glide

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2008, 08:29 PM
muleman muleman is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: KY
Posts: 51
Default

yea i would really like the instructions.. can you shoot them to me..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-10-2008, 09:00 PM
8541hog's Avatar
8541hog 8541hog is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dublin, CA
Posts: 6,398
8541hog
Send a message via Skype™ to 8541hog
Default

Well, I don't have any instructions, I had to figure it out as I went, but I am willing to answer any questions to help. I do have a linkage rod that might work for you but you will need the heim joints as well as the bolts. The rod I got with mine was too short. What do you have so far? Have you started taking anything apart yet or checking fit?
__________________

I don't ride to putt, I putt to ride!

8541hog.net 05 Wide Glide

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-10-2008, 10:49 PM
muleman muleman is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: KY
Posts: 51
Default

all i got is the forward controls and the stock stuff on the mid controls... i know i need a shifter rod.... what else.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-2008, 05:33 AM
8541hog's Avatar
8541hog 8541hog is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dublin, CA
Posts: 6,398
8541hog
Send a message via Skype™ to 8541hog
Default

I think I have suggested everything you will need in the way of parts, do you have a service manual? Do you know how to bleed brakes? Does your bike use Dot 5 or DOT 4?
__________________

I don't ride to putt, I putt to ride!

8541hog.net 05 Wide Glide

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-11-2008, 10:34 AM
muleman muleman is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: KY
Posts: 51
Default

if the forward controls have a brake res. on it and the stock is still on the bike do you just block off the stock brake res. or what?? and use the one on the forwards??
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-11-2008, 10:47 AM
8541hog's Avatar
8541hog 8541hog is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dublin, CA
Posts: 6,398
8541hog
Send a message via Skype™ to 8541hog
Default

Yes, you will have to remove all stock brake parts except the caliper, and sending unit switch. You will reuse the switch and caliper. But everything else is basically going to be new.
__________________

I don't ride to putt, I putt to ride!

8541hog.net 05 Wide Glide

Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2008, 10:47 AM
 
 
 
P
Reply

Tags
2000, 2003, 2010, brake, controls, directions, dyna, fit, forward, fxdl, install, installing, instructions, mid, rod, sportster


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Internet Brands, Inc.



Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1