Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Sissy bar from scratch

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2013, 08:56 PM
WhiskeyHarley
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sissy bar from scratch

Hey guys, looking to make a sissy bar from scratch. I'm a welder, so the fab is no problem, but what im tryin' to figure out is a way to quick-detach it like i see on alotta other ones. I don't have one to go off of, so I guess im wondering what hardware I could use on my struts (I don't use the covers) to make it go on and off easy. Thanks in advance.

Old 03-03-2013, 11:13 PM
WhiskeyHarley
Advanced

I guess I should rephrase: I'm trying to find a set of quick detach side plates, so when I'm not using the sissy bar, I can remove the side plates with ease. I thought I found some, but I don't understand how they go on/off without like jacking up the bike and unbolting the fender.

Old 03-03-2013, 11:15 PM
dirtdobber
Elite HDF Member
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts

you can always make a plate to fit the fender struts bolts. Get some bolts that is 1/4inch longer or so. Cut a slot on the front bolt for the mount making it forward, toward the engine. On the back bolt make the slot downward. This way it can slide in toward the engine and down on the rear just by losing the bolts. You may want to add washers between or spacers to keep from scratching the fender strut. I have made a lot of these, pretty simple and easy to make. You can either use square thick wall tubing or solid round rods. Weld or bolt together. If you are wanting a luggage rack you can take care of that at the same time.
I make most of my stuff like this. Cost less and I can do it like I want.
powder coat or chrome.
I use 1/4 sheet cold roll

Old 03-03-2013, 11:40 PM
Nbdzhro
Tourer
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts